About Us » History of the School

History of the School

Audubon Junior High School first opened its doors to students on September 10, 1929. The school was named after the naturalist, John James Audubon. The area, even then known as Leimert Park, was Mr. Walter H. Leimert's dream project, a community which integrated residential, commercial, and cultural areas.

Contractors cleared an existing bean field for the school's construction between Santa Barbara Boulevard and Stocker. District architect A.S. Nibecker, Jr. , the school's designer, selected an angled corner of the property on Creed Avenue for the front of the school. Audubon's first address was 4201 Creed Avenue, Los Angeles, California.

The original Administration Building and Auditorium were styled after the Spanish missions so popular in Southern California history. An octagonal theme can be traced throughout the architecture from the twin Towers of the Administration Building to an octagonal fountain constructed in the center of the courtyard. The original school design included a courtyard, four arched arcades, and a smaller patio. The patio existed between the Auditorium and the courtyard. It was the most popular background for graduation and yearbook portraits and its gates served as the most frequently used entrance and exit for students.

The large student courtyard existed between the back of the Administration Building and the Student Cafeteria. A Shop Building completed the four-building original school. Physical Education classes met in this building until the completion of the Physical Education Building in 1931. The Shop Building included space for an auto body shop. At that time it was considered a modern classroom needed to teach a newly important curriculum. The original four building Audubon Junior High School cost the district $350,000 to build.

The stunning beauty of the original buildings inspired construction in the, then vacant, surrounding community. As Walter Leimert developed the areas around Audubon Junior High School, the homes adopted the Spanish architectural theme.